The Finding of Jesus Christ in the Temple

And it came to pass, that, after three days, they found him in the temple, sitting in the midst of the doctors, hearing them and asking them questions.

Paolo Veronese, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons

In writing these Rosary Reflections, I often seek Jesus. But I do so in a cold, “gotta get this done” kind of way. That is precisely when it doesn’t get done.

How much time do we waste looking for him in the wrong places: a lover’s illicit embrace, a third or fourth or fifth shot of whiskey, another candy bar?

Why don’t I seek my Savior where I know him to be: in Scripture, in the Sacraments, in my heart?

God of Abraham, our God, our steadfast Eternal One-as-Three, send your angels to be our bulwark against seeking God The Son in unprofitable ways and places. Let us remember that He is never far. Diminish us, and grow our holiness. To the Most Holy Trinity do we pray. Amen.

Leave a comment